the best 4th of july

   I’m sure somewhere in the annals of this holiday there is a better one, but this is the best 4th I’ve ever had

years ago I went and watched the Beack Boys Live at the Hollywood Bowl.  You could see the word hollywood that you see in the movies on the hillside in the distance.  After they played such greats as Barbarann, giddyup 409, and I get around, there was this huge fireworks show.  People were drinking beer that was being served in popcorn buckets, and the pungently sweet smell of marijuana was hanging like a blue fog in the air over the crowd.

It doesn’t get any more “americana” than that

8 Responses to the best 4th of july

  1. D. Peace says:

    You pot-smoking hippie! All you kids and your damn mary-joo-wanna.

    Seriously, I’m glad you had a good time. 🙂 Kudos.

  2. this was like 20 years ago peace…i wrote a thing about it, but i couldn’t find it…it was a day to remember

  3. mdvp says:

    Of course it was, who would go to a Beach Boys concert today?

  4. if it was live? at the hollywood bowl? and i didn’t have to take a urine test for work?

    oh man, I would…in a heartbeat

  5. mdvp says:

    To each his own, I suppose.

  6. nothing wrong with a little R&R once a decade or so, MD…c’mon…i’ll show yuh jamaica, mon…ummm…you gotta lose the suit though.

  7. mdvp says:

    I’m not even sure if I can take it off at this point. Too much emotional trauma.

    I suppose, if I can still wear a sportcoat.

    Anyway, it’s not that, I’m okay with beer and marijuana part, it’s the Beach Boys I don’t really like.

  8. lol….see..like I said…you’re ok.

Leave a Reply

