what a waste

   I wasn’t blogging in the mid nineties.  In fact, I couldn’t have defined blogging in the mid 90’s.  I didn’t buy a computer until the late nineties.  I’m slow about buying things.  I call it frugal.  My kids call it squeezing juice from a dime.  They have no room to speak on the matter.  Two of them as yet make no effort to make money of their own, and the other is a shyster from hell.  He always has an angle.  He keeps it legal, but has a way of making me maintain a “bail fund” just in case.  That’s not what this is about.

    In the mid 90’s I watched as everything was about get Bill Clinton.  I watched as millions of dollars were spent on a special prosecutor to track down what amounted to information about various nefarious deeds, plots, and conspiracies that in total amounted to nothing.  Ok, there were probably crimes committed.  There were probably ethical breaches.  Oh who am I kidding.  There were a lot of things.  None of them meant a whole lot to me.  They meant a lot to conservatives.  They spent money like it belonged to them in a congressional witch hunt designed to bring down the president, and thereby cast doubt on the office.  this was unhealthy.  This was imprudent.  This was incredibly wasteful, but since I wasn’t blogging I couldn’t say that to any but those I ran into in real life.

    The biggest crime commited in that era wasn’t by Clinton.  It was by a Republican controlled congress.  It wasn’t something they could be tried for.  It wasn’t even something people noticed until long after it ceased to be important.  It was a statistic before the world paid any attention at all.  Rwanda.  Genocide.   Hutu’s killing Tutsi’s until the rivers ran with blood.  Until a generation of men was decimated.  Until a generation of women were gang raped and impregnated and slaughtered while the world looked the other way.

    The Republicans weren’t alone in this travesty of justice.  The administration ignored it as well.  It was to busy covering the ass of it’s boss.  European leaders ignored it.  They were worried about the Balkans, and found a way to get the U.S. involved.  They needed us, and Bill needed a distraction that mattered.  Everyone got what they wanted.  Except the Tutsi’s.  They got screwed.  No kissing involved.

   Now we have a president being nipped at by a congress that can find no better way to spend their time or our  money.  The parallels are to many to enumerate.  Let’s call it the same thing 12 years later.  While men in Darfur are slaughtered, women are raped and impregnated, children starve and die by the thousands; congress would like to know what happened with the firings of 8 disinteresting lawyers, and why Scooter Libby’s prison sentence was commuted.

    I’m not traumatized by this.  It bothers me though that bloggers take up the cause of unimportant political candidates and rant and rave and attack those that don’t agree with them.  It bothers me that no inspired journalist is recognizing the dangers of the parallel sequences of events.  It bothers me that no candidate has stood up strongly to call this an atrocity.  They all know what I know.  I’m just a guy in the midwest.  They have everything at their disposal.  Is it possible nobody cares that a genocide is happening, and we spend our time on trivialities?   Is this a situation Ron Paul would consider proper government behaviour?  If not, why doesn’t he speak?  How about Barack?  Or Joe Biden?  He’s been there.  He knows.  He has seen with his own eyes, yet he’ll spend his week on Scooter Libby and 8 irrelevant attorneys.  How much would you like to bet that so will the political wing of the blog world?

   

9 Responses to what a waste

  1. I think that it’s not being addressed because no one knows how the hell to stop it. If we tried to intervene, those countries that we’ve alienated would take the opportunity to show how we think that we need to police the world — and that makes the politicians nervous. Plus, without going down there and spending millions of dollars and establishing some kind of permanent military force down there to maintain order, there’s not much that we could do.

    I still have a hard time wrapping my mind around what human beings can do to each other. Now, I can’t help but point out (with my cynicism shades on) that most of the people dying in the Darfur conflict are Muslim. That means that there isn’t going to be a whole lot of support from certain quarters to end this mess. (“Hell, Billy Joe Bob Bubba, let ’em kill each other off, right?”)

    This is also a perfect example of how ineffective the United Nations is. An organization that stands for the fair and reasonable treatment of peoples around the world can’t even summon its collective balls together to make a stand in Darfur and force the Sudanese government to do the right thing.

    Do you see why I like to post about grapes and Ron Paul?

  2. sure do, but I’d feel remiss if I didn’t say something. No one else seems to be

  3. Conundrum says:

    I think the situation in darfur is a disgrace and is effectively blood on the hands of all world powers and thier leaders and the sadly nearly-useless UN.

    Having said that, I can’t pretend that it is cause to ignore abuses here in our own country. You are quite right that the Clinton impeachment was tax dollars wasted since the purpose of the special prosecutor was proven to be unfounded or fivilous.

    That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t care that hard working civil servants weren’t harmed by administration abuses of firings for not prosecuting the political persons of the wrong party or by having their government security secrecy status undermined.

    Are there any honest and ethical politicians? Probably not, even though they may have been when they were initially elected…and the reason for all that should weigh heavily on all of us.

    I wish I could offer a solution.

  4. I’ve always wanted to feel remiss. Someone said that it’s a little gritty but Eddie swears that it’s got a spongy feel to it.

    I love it when people use the wrong words. I think the word you meant was “hummus.”

  5. hi conundrum i have one. If charged with a crime try them in the same manner as any other citizen. We do after all have a citizen government. Would you call the firing of the white house postal staff, roughly the same sort of abuse as the firing of these attorneys? and if not that, How about the ransacking of hundreds of FBI files. Unfortunately, ethics is no longer an important part of government.

    thanks for coming by, and commenting.

  6. mdvp says:

    Unfortunately, I temporarily went blind at the sentence “Republican controlled congress.” which seemed to suggest they commited ‘the biggest crime’ and was unable to finish reading.

    Seriously though? That’s what the UN is for, I’m not too fussed about it myself. That’s what they were supposed to be for at least. Yeah, so partly the blame lies with us for being part of the Security council and not doing anything. But that’s nothing to do with Congress, anything they did would involve us going in alone or with whoever agreed, not a UN mandated invasion, and we couldn’t do anything in the UN without the rest anyway. That’s why I don’t think much of the Save Darfur people. We covered for them in Iraq (and look what thanks we got for that) it’s time for the UN to fix itself or dissolve so there’s room for a new organization.

  7. hard to argue against your points. The UN won’t even label it genocide. they are about worthless.

    I guess my point is the same as i teach my children. If someone else does wrong, you doing wrong doesn’t make it right.

    No one will ever convince me it wasn’t wrong to ignore what happened in Rwanda.

  8. Conundrum says:

    …Unfortunately, ethics is no longer an important part of government

    I couldn’t agree more.

    Yes – the same trial system for all offenders, that sounds right to me.

  9. hello again conundrum. I’m simple, I know, but sometimes simple is right. That one just seems right.

    thanks agian

Leave a Reply

