religion…the fox in the hen house

    I’m a little concerned.  Is it Romney, or is it just me?  Has religion suddenly leapt to the fore of the presidrntial race?  I guess anything is possible in a society as mixed up as ours, but can it be reasonable to elect someone based on their religious beliefs?  Pardon me while I hop up on my pulpit.

let’s start with a laymans definition of faith.  Most religions are faith based, so this is a good starting point.

Faith:  Believing in something that can’t be proven.   Pretty simple.  Not real complicated.  Would anyone like an example?

Example 1: While there is no proof that tarot cards can really tell your future, many people believe in them. 

Let’s do another

example 2: while there is no proof that their are humanoid life forms on other planets, many people believe in them.

Let’s call in the hounds and head it on home to bowlegs now.

example 3: Though there isn’t a shred of evidence that there is a supreme being, many people believe in one.

   Number one is no sillier than number two is no sillier than number three.  In fact, if you believe in any of them they aren’t silly at all. They also do not lend you a special insight into the running of a nation, any extra knowledge on how to deal with the leaders of other nations, nor do they improve your ability to make a tasty bologna, mustard, and chitlins sandwich.

Its not important.  In fact, were it up to me religion would almost always be a negative. Religious doctrine, all of them, are riddled with violence, intolerance,  and draconian strictures.  The strictures are so binding that a truly devout man would make a horrible leader.  would you like an example?  No? Tough

Example:  Jimmy Carter

Example: Adolph Hitler

Example: Golda Meir

Example: The Ayatollah Khomeini

I could go on like that until tomorrow, but we’d be no closer to the end of this post, and I’m striving for it.

  Mitt Romney is a mormon.  What did you think?  90% of the people that hear the word mormon think “polygamy.”  Those who have read up on it so they can slam him know much more.  What they don’t realize is that the same brush they use to spread the tar that holds the feathers on old Mitt, can be used on any of the others as well.

What makes a christian a good choice as a president?  If you said nothing you are correct. What happens if a true christian gets in the white house? A Ron Paul, or a Mike Huckabee? Hell, Mike is a preacher. Will they fight to end abortion?  Will they try to make adultery a felony?  Will coveting be a crime? Man I hope not because I confess I have been known to covet my ass off from time to time.  Will a catholic president out of bitterness go after the lutherans?  You laugh my friend, but it’s been done.  This nation was settled by people who were fleeing religious persecution.  If I’m not mistaken it was those two factions.

   What about Barack?  He is a christian, but his name is pure muslim. What if he’s elected, and then converts to islam?  does Shariaa law become something he wants enforced?  Shall we lop off hands for theft?  How about stoning for adultery. Maybe a little bif bam boom for not wearing your abaya when you walk out in public ladies?

What about hillary? Would opus dei try to whack her?  They seem to be all about a patriarchal society?  Or would she rewrite scripture ala Dale Brown, and raise up Mary Magdalene? 

  Back To Mitt.  Would he really make me have two wives?  I work damn hard not to have any, but I know i’m supposed to be fruitful and multiply under virtually every religion on earth.

   None of that is likely to happen.  We have what we call seperation of church and state.  It’s more of a euphemism for “incredibly rich churches don’t have to pay there fair share,” but we do have it. The point I make in my overly wordy way, is that religions are not inviting if you don’t belong to them.  They are not inclusive, are not tolerant of other ideals.  They are probably the number one cause of wars since time began.

Oh yeah.  they are based on faith.  Let’s elect the man in the moon.  There is no basis for him existing, but i have faith that he does.

Being religious is not a bad thing.  It tends to make one an instant hypocrite, but other than that it’s not so bad.  Religion is no barometer on how good a person is though, and shouldn’t be a primary concern when casting your vote.  I’d vote for the guy that worships Roscoe the wonder bunny if i think he’s the best man for the job.

18 Responses to religion…the fox in the hen house

  1. thanks anita…that may well be my only concurring comment

  2. sobiop says:

    No it isn’t.

  3. hi sobi…thats 2 then. The whole world hasn’t gone to the priests, the mullahs, and the rabbi’s i suppose

  4. But he’s a Mormon? Aren’t those the ones that believe some old dude built a wooden boat and put two of each kind of every species of animal in the boat while a giant flood covered the entire earth? Those are Mormons, right? Oh…..wait….

  5. hi practical…close enough. funny.

    thanks for coming by

  6. Conundrum says:

    Great post.

    I am one who believes in some kind of supreme being but have no clue in my little brain on how to define that. By contrast I have a strong distrust and dislike for organized religion. Churches are made up of mere mortals who are usually led by some ego-freak.

    I think a person with a good foundation in ethics would be a great choice but I frankly don’t care about their religion. By contrast, I think Bill Clinton had the potential to be a good president and if his wife didn’t care about him getting a monica in the hallway, why on earth should I care? Wasn’t the real problem that kept those years for our country in disarray that Ken Starr had quest to discredit for any reason at any cost? How else does one get from investigating S&L lending in Arkansas to sex in the hallways of the white house.

    Today I ask people who bashed him for the monica, which is worse – having consensual sex or sending thousands of Americans to die for no apparently valid purpose in Iraq?

    Virtually every president we’ve had has been reported to or proven to have had extramarital affairs. I think sexual conquests tend to go hand in hand with the inflated ego it takes to crave that job – A job that I don’t understand why any sane rational person would want it.

    I’m on board – maybe the best candidate is one who has no affiliation with any church.

    I agree with you about religion causing virtually all wars – I think that is why there will never be peace in the middle east – every faction believes God is on their side and therefore can’t or won’t compromise in any way.

  7. mdvp says:

    Adolph Hitler

    Ha ha.

    We have what we call seperation of church and state.

    If you say so. 🙂

    They are probably the number one cause of wars since time began.

    Now really, I could do without the overgeneralization. You realize you’re putting Buddhism and Islam together and saying they’re both violent.

  8. nope. sure am not MD. I’m saying in totality, religion has caused more wars than anything else..I’m probably wrong, but it’s got to be right up there. Buddhist just self immolate during other religions’ wars.

  9. con – the only issue i had with bill was when given the opportunity to plead the fifth he chose to lie. Ken Starr did little to alter what was business as usual in Washington. The Clinton habit of doing things that were borderline pretty well matches Bush’s. The difference I see is that Bush doesn’t let it distract him from his chosen course of insanity, and Bill did.,

  10. Conundrum says:

    I agree Crimmy.

    There is little difference among politicians, regardless of party affiliation, other than the issues they choose as their own soapbox topic to tackle.

    I pretty much distrust all of them and sadly find myself voting for what I hope is the lesser of the evils. I’m not sure how to determine if I succeed.

  11. con…pay attention to your local elections. That is where you’ll find the good people. They are usually underfunded…dead giveaway.

  12. Religion has certainly been used as pretext for a lot of wars – but religous conflicts often underscore some deeper cultural divide aside from doctrine itself. Also, in times past (not so much now), religion was the vehicle through which the ambitious gained power. Today, we have plenty of other causes that are exploited by the power-hungry (environmentalism, for example). In this regard, I don’t think it is religious belief, itself, that causes violence, just how others have exploited that belief.

    Religion has, of course, also been the cause of a lot of good. The abolitionist and women’s rights movements were started and supported by the religious – and who can forget that Martin Luther King was a Reverand who couched his arguments as an appeal to the divine – same with Ghandi.

    As for Bill Clinton – he did break the law. The same law, ironically, that Scooter Libby was convicted of. Funny how all the sudden the Republicans are saying perjury is no big deal and the Democrats are practically seeking the death penalty. I guess it just goes to show that where you sit determines where you stand.

  13. hi practical…good insight. It doesn’t change for me the main premise though. That religion is not a good barometer for judging a good president. All things being equal I have no problem with someone using it as their deciding factor, but to use it as a prime basis for who they will vote for is on the surface…nutso.

    thanks for coming by

  14. With today’s completely scripted campaign narratives, I’m not sure how anyone could even presume to measure religiousity (although many try). Evangelicals who won’t vote for Mitt becasue he’s a Mormon are both bigoted and extremely stupid – considering he’s by far the strongest Republican candidate. I always found it extremely annoying how some on the religious right like Dobson would ‘anoint’ a candidate he felt the most ‘Christian.’ Were that the case during the last century, we would not have had a President Thomas Jefferson (diest) or Lincoln (no religious affiliation whatsoever). Of course, lets not forget who (arguably) was our most religous president: Jimmy Carter.

  15. yeah, Jimmy was devout…and useless as a president, but has shown himself to be aan effective negotiator and activist.

    What brought this up was a horrendous attack article I read about Mitt. I am no particular fan. I also have noticed religion becoming a big deal on the left. They continue to forward their religious beliefs, and I’m sorry…i just don’t think religion is relevant. I want secular leadership. I don’t want dogma and scripture determining the fate ouf our nation.

  16. mdvp says:

    Thomas Jefferson was no deist. I think that Carter was just an idiot, nothing to do with religion. Religion, directly or indirectly, is always going to be an issue. The vast majority of Americans are religious. There’s going to be a substantial minority who think a candidate is more ideal simply because of their religion. I myself am drawn to Sam Brownback in some respects. To stop them would be to violate freedom of religion. However, the more prominent issue is that religion, invariably, will influence a person’s beliefs. You might as well just say “I’m against abortion because I’m Christian, and I’ll follow a Christian moral code on other issues because that’s what I believe.” Politics has a habit of going into issues of morality because there is no choice but to do so. For politics to come in and demand that religion religion and religious people clear out is definitely not a good idea if we want the Constitution to remain our nation’s legal foundation.

    *I could go on about the beliefs of the founding fathers, but I won’t unless asked.

  17. hi MD…I wasn’t even really advocsating a removal of religion from politics…merely asking that people put religion in its proper perspective when voting. I was raised lutheran and then pentecostal. I know a little of what i speak of when i talk about universal hypocrisy.

    and pplease, anytinme you want….say what you wanna say. Hell write a post and we’ll slip it in on em.

Leave a Reply

